Mobius Institute Board of Certification

MIBoC - ISO 18436

About us  |  Knowledgebase  |  Contact Us  |  Support  |  Buy Online  |  View Cart

ISO Certification 18436-2


To learn more about our accreditation and the value of being certified by Mobius Institute, download our eBook titled "Mobius Institute - Vibration Analyst CERTIFICATION GUIDE" by Roberta Clark

Mobius Institute Board of Certification (MIBoC) provides certification services to Mobius Institute vibration analysis students. If you meet the ISO-18436 experience requirements, complete an ISO-18436 recognized course (such as those offered by Mobius Institute) and pass the respective examination, you will become certified according to ISO 18436-1 and ISO 18436-2. MIBOC is accredited according to ISO/IEC 17024, meaning there is no higher recognized certification available to vibration analysts. For more detailed information about MIBOC accreditation you can download our certification guide by clicking on the Certification Guide to the right.


In order to be certified you must demonstrate that you have the experience and knowledge to perform the duties of a vibration analyst. MIBoC examinations, therefore, favor the practicing vibration analyst. If you understand the theory but can't actually perform vibration analysis, you will not pass. If you can measure and look at spectra, but don't understand what you are doing, you will not pass. In Category I->III we do not require you to perform calculations that you are never likely to need to perform in your normal work. In Category IV there are far more calculations required.


MIBoC has streamlined all of its processes to keep the costs to an absolute minimum, and does not charge an annual fee in order to remain certified. Thanks to the ISO 9001 and ISO 17024 annual audit and certification fees that MIBoC must pay on your behalf, which MIBoC must pass on a nominal fee to you, however these are the most affordable in the industry.


Its Mobius Institute's and MIBoC's goal to serve people in every part of the world and we recognize that not everyone can get to a certification center in order to take the exam. Therefore, we offer a very secure means to take the exam no matter where you are in the world through our Certification Invigilation. Learn more about Invigilation by by clicking here.

Under copyright laws we are not allowed to show you the ISO 18436-2 standard; it must be purchased from the ISO directly.

Our exams follow the ISO 18436-2 standard as described below:

  Exams sat after 1/1/2015
Level Duration Questions Pass Mark
Category I 2 hours 60 70%
Category II 3 hours 100 70%
Category III 4 hours 100 70%
Category IV 5 hours 60 70%


  • As per the standard, all of the questions are multiple choice (four options to choose from).
  • You are required to perform some calculations, so you must bring a calculator.
  • The exam is "closed book", however you are provided with a booklet of standard tables, charts, formulae and basic reference material.
  • To quote from the standard: "Questions shall be of a practical nature, yet test the candidate on concepts and principles required to conduct machinery condition evaluations. The questions may involve the interpretation of charts and plots. Simple mathematical calculations may be required."


In the event that a candidate is unsuccessful in passing the certification examination, he/she can apply to re-sit the examination twice. A candidate who fails three consecutive attempts will be excluded from further examinations for a period of 12 months, provided that the re-examinations take place not sooner than 30 days after a previous examination. A certification body may use its discretion in allowing an earlier re-examination in the event that further training acceptable to the certification body concerned is undertaken. Candidates excluded for reasons of unethical behavior shall wait at least 12 months before reapplying.".


There are prerequisites for each certification level.



Category I

6 months

Category II

18 months

Category III

36 months

Category IV

60 months


To quote the standard: "Designation of a person as Category I is not a prerequisite for certification as Category II. However, certification of a person as Category III and Category IV requires previous certification at the lower category through an approved certification body. A list of approved certification bodies can be found in document ED017 which can be downloaded here. At each higher classification category, the breadth and depth of experience is expected to be greater than at the previous lower category".

You may take the MIBoC certification exam if you have previously taken an approved training course for that category. A list of approved training courses can be found in document ED009 which can be downloaded here.

Period of validity

As per the standard, certification remains valid for five (5) years.  You may take the exam again within the 5 year period, or you can provide evidence of continued activity and study in vibration analysis and your period of certification will be extended without examination.

Annual fees

As per the standard, annual fees are not charged in order to maintain the validity of your certification.

Renewal of Certification

Certification at at the higher level is an alternative to renewal at the curent level, but it does not automatically renew their current certification. i.e. I can do CAT III instead of renewing my CAT II, but doing so will not renew my CAT II certification. Alternatively, if you can provide verifiable evidence of continued satisfactory work activity in the field of vibration analysis without significant interruption, you may apply for renewal by completing our Renewal Application and Certified Analyst Code of Ethics Agreement. The fee for certification renewal is US $250. For more information and renewal. 

Worldwide:  +61 3 5989 7285


© 2018 - MIBoC - All rights reserved.

Mobius Institute Board of Certification

Merricks North, Victoria, Australia